When Was the Treaty of Versailles Signed?

When Was the Treaty of Versailles Signed?

The Treaty of Versailles was signed on June 28, 1919 and was a peace treaty at the end of World War I between the Allies and Germany. It was signed precisely 5 years after Archduke Franz Ferdinand was assassinated. The other Central powers signed separate treaties and although the actual fighting already ended on November 11, 1918 with an armistice, the treaty of Versailles took six months to compile due to all of the negotiations. The League of Nations registered the treaty on October 21, 1919 and printed it in its Treaty Series.

Key Conditions of The Treaty of Versailles

  • Germany was not allowed to form part of the League of Nations
  • The Rhineland was a demilitarised zone, Germany was not allowed to send any military personnel there
  • France would get The Saar (rich with coal) for 15 years and get Alsace Lorraine back.
  • Austria and Germany were forbidden to unite
  • Certain rich farmlands in eastern Germany were given to Poland
  • All Germany's colonies were taken away and given to Britain and France as 'mandates'
  • Germany's army was not to grow bigger than 100,000 soldiers, and the navy was not allowed to have any submarines and only six battleships. An air force for Germany was not allowed.
  • Germany had to pay reparation costs to other countries due to damages caused by the war.

This article is part of our extensive collection of articles on the Great War. Click here to see our comprehensive article on World War 1.